IEEE photonics

Organizing institutions

COPL logo


COPL logo

additional links

Contact information

T: 418 656-2131 x.12347
F: 418 656-2623
General informations: info_wio@copl.ulaval.ca

Keynote Speakers

Opening Keynote Speaker: Monday 20th, 10h-10h30

2012 winner of the Dennis Gabor Award


Y. Fainman received the Ph. D. from Technion in 1983. He is a Cymer Professor of Advanced Optical Technologies and Professor of ECE at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD). He is also Chair of the ECE Department at UCSD. His current research involves near field optical science and technology, nanophotonics, nanolasers and ultrafast optics. He is a Fellow of OSA, IEEE, and SPIE. He Chaired, co-Chaired and served on numerous program committees for various conferences for OSA, IEEE/LEOS, and SPIE. He is a recipient of the Miriam and Aharon Gutvirt Prize, Technion, Haifa, Israel (1982), Lady Davis Fellowship (2006), Brown award (2006) and Gabor Award (2011). He was a General Chair for Inaugural OSA Topical Meeting on Nanophotonics for Information Systems in 2005 and served as a topical editor and board member for various journals. He contributed over 200 manuscripts in peer review journals and over 400 conference presentations and conference proceedings.

Conference keynote speaker: Thursday 23rd, 13h30-14h

Hilton Quebec

Nasser Peyghambarian received his Ph.D. in solid-state Physics from Indiana University in 1982, specializing in optical properties of semiconductors. He is currently a Professor at both the College of Optical Sciences and the Department of Materials Science & Engineering at the University of Arizona. He is also Chair of Photonics and Lasers at the University of Arizona as well as Director of the NSF ERC Center for Integrated Access Networks. He is the Founder and Chairman of the Board of NP Photonics Inc. and TIPD, LLC. His research interests include polymers for optoelectronic applications including plastic optoelectronic devices, 3D updateable display, lasers, waveguide and fiber optics including fiber lasers and amplifiers, passive optical components, and femtosecond laser spectroscopy. He is the recipient of the U of A 2007 Technology Innovation Award, International Francqui Chair, Belgium 1998-1999. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Optical Society of America (OSA), the Society for optical engineers (SPIE) and the American Physical Society (APS).


The Workshop on Information Optics will be held during 20-24 August, 2012 at Hilton Hotel in Quebec City, Canada. The workshop will address the latest advances in information optics, information photonics, imaging sciences and engineering, display technologies and 3D displays, 3D image sensing, image-based information security, image recognition, biophotonics, and novel image sensors. It will be a forum for scientific interaction and collaboration between well-known scientists in the field and educational outreach to students.

The workshop will consist of keynotes and invited talks (oral presentations are by invitation only). Regular submissions will be accepted as poster presentations on topics that include, but are not strictly limited to, those listed below.

The program will include a "poster pop" session during which each poster presenter will have the opportunity to introduce his/her poster for 5 minutes to the conference attendees. Each presenter (keynote, invited, poster) is invited to submit a short manuscript that will be published online here.

Scientific topics

  • Fundamental advances in information optics and photonics, including algorithms, devices, and systems.
  • 3D image sensing, processing, and display: digital holography, integral imaging
  • Biophotonics and biomedical imaging.
  • Inverse problems in optics
  • Image-based security and optical security systems.
  • Polarimetric and multi spectral imaging.
  • Materials and devices for information optics.
  • Nano-technologies for imaging systems.
  • Quantum optics for imaging
  • Integrated sensing and imaging, compressive sensing.
  • Diffractive optics.
  • Spatial light modulators and applications in information optics.
  • New radiation sources for information optics.